Requests to View/Copy Disciplinary File
- Requests can be made verbally or in writing. However, for documentation purposes, the Center for Student Rights and Responsibilities prefers written requests.
- If a student would like to review their file (no copies), the Center for Student Rights and Responsibilities must allow this to happen within 30 days of our receipt of that request, per CIPA, Article 8 (California Information Practices Act).
- If a student who has already viewed their file would like a copy of their file, or portions of their file, the Center for Student Rights and Responsibilities must provide these copies to the student within 15 days after the student views their file, per CIPA, Article 8.
- If a student only wants a copy of their file, or portions of their file, and does not want to view it first, the Center for Student Rights and Responsibilities must provide a copy within 45 days of the request, per FERPA (Family Education Rights and Privacy Act).
- The cost of copying a file to the student is $0.10 per page, per CIPA, Article 8 .
- The student will be notified when their copies are ready, including the cost and approved methods of payment. Students must pay by cashiers check or money order made payable to the Center for Student Rights and Responsibilities.
- Both FERPA and CIPA entitle students to seek amendments of their educational records.
Please Reference the “Records Access Manual” from the Office of the General Counsel for the California State University System sections III. E, and IV.E, for an overview of: the California Information Practices Act; and the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act.